Please also visit:

John Meyer awarded for contributions to cinema sound

John Meyer awarded for contributions to cinema sound

John Meyer awarded for contributions to cinema sound

SMPTE, the international society for media professionals, technologists and engineers, has awarded the 2022 Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal to John Meyer, co-founder, president, and CEO of Meyer Sound. According to a SMPTE statement, the honour was bestowed “in recognition of his contributions to the design, measurement and analysis of cinema speaker electronics for cinema mixing, review and exhibition facilities.” Formal presentation of the award will take place at the SMPTE Awards Gala, to be held on 27 October at the Loews Hollywood Hotel.

“I am deeply grateful for the industry recognition that comes with this medal,” said Meyer. “Certainly, it acknowledges my personal commitment to excellence in film sound, which is a passion that goes back to my childhood. I always enjoyed the experience of good movie sound – and I was annoyed when it was bad, which was too often the case. I always thought it could be better and making that happen has been a major focus of my life’s work.”

When Meyer and his wife Helen launched Meyer Sound Laboratories in 1979. “One of our first products was a custom subwoofer for a limited showing of Apocalypse Now,” recalled Meyer, “and that was the beginning of our still-continuing relationship with Francis and American Zoetrope. However, we only started making a full line of dedicated cinema loudspeakers much later, when we could leverage mature self-powered technology. We wanted to be sure we would bring to the market something that was significantly better, and I believe we have accomplished that goal. In that respect, I would like to thank everybody at Meyer Sound, from R&D engineers to loudspeaker assembly technicians. They all share in the recognition that comes with this award.”

The Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal, established in 1946 and sponsored by Warner Bros., recognises outstanding contributions in the design and development of new and improved methods and/or apparatus for motion picture sound, including any step in the process. A sampling of other recipients would include sound designer Walter Murch (2019), acoustician Neil A. Shaw (2016), surround sound pioneer Ray M. Dolby (1978), Stefan Kudelski, designer of breakthrough portable film sound recorders (1967); and Harry F. Olsen, the “founding father” of modern electro-acoustical engineering (1955).

You may also like:

Please also visit:

Information on cookies

Cookies are short reports that are sent and stored on the hard drive of the user's computer through your browser when it connects to a web. Cookies can be used to collect and store user data while connected to be able to provide you the requested services. Often cookies are getting deleted when the user leaves a site or logs out of it.

There are several types of cookies:

  • Technical cookies that facilitate user navigation and use of the various options or services offered by the web, such asas identifying a session, allowing access to certain areas, facilitating orders, purchases, filling out forms, registration, security, facilitating functionalities (videos, social networks, etc..).
  • Customization cookies that allow users to access services according to their preferences (language, browser, configuration, etc..).
  • Analytical cookies which allow anonymous analysis of the behavior of web users, measuring user activity and development of navigation profiles in order to improve websites and the experience of future visitors.

When you keep using our website, in compliance with Article 22 of Law 34/2002 of the Information Society Services, in the analytical cookies treatment, we have requested your consent to their use.
We use cookies to improve our services. For more details please refer to our Terms of Use and/or our Privacy Policy.

Please note that you can enable or disable and delete cookies in your web browser.